Loading...
PLEASE NOTE: All Virginia ABC stores will be closing at 6 pm on Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day.
Store
Virginia ABC > About > Media Room > 2023 > ABC Laws Effective July 1

ABC Laws Effective July 1

June 29, 2023

News Release Contact:

Virginia ABC Communications - (804) 213-4413
Email: [email protected]

Virginia ABC-Related Laws Go into Effect July 1

Beginning Saturday, July 1, laws impacting the operation of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC), its licensees and applicants for ABC licenses will take effect. The Virginia General Assembly passed the following Virginia ABC-related legislation during the 2023 session, and Gov. Glenn Youngkin has since signed them into law.

Crossover Product Rules (HB 1979 and SB 809) – Both bills established guidelines for licensees regarding the display of alcoholic beverages near non-alcoholic beverages of the same or similar branding, logo or packaging. The new law was created to address innovative “crossover products” that contain alcohol and may cause consumer confusion or appeal to an underage audience.

Virginia ABC developed resources addressing crossover products for licensees, including stickers and a product guide. In July, ABC’s Bureau of Law Enforcement agents will distribute these resources, which will also be available online.

Employment Restrictions Relaxed (HB 1730) – This law streamlines the process for licensees to hire individuals with a felony conviction.  Prospective employees must be two years past their conviction, with all terms of probation or parole completed (or have written permission from Virginia ABC and consultation with the probation and parole officer).

Seasonal Marketplace License Fee (HB 2336) – This law lowers the annual state license fee from $1,000 to $500 and the annual local license tax from $200 to $100 for marketplace licenses, when licensing privileges are exercised for six or less consecutive months, if such a period is specified prior to the beginning of the license year.

Local Alcohol Safety Action Boards (HB 2370 and SB 841) – Both bills modified the jurisdiction and composition of local alcohol safety action boards. 

Per the Code of Virginia, ABC’s profits from in-store and online retail sales provide funding for designated state programs and services. For fiscal year 2022, ABC contributed a total of $622.8 million ($243.6 million from retail sales) to the commonwealth.

                                                                                                                      ###

The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC) is a major source of revenue for the commonwealth, contributing more than $2.7 billion to the general fund in the last five years. Virginia ABC currently operates 399 state stores and provides alcohol education and prevention programs for people of all ages. Its Bureau of Law Enforcement oversees approximately 19,000 ABC licensed establishments. Now marking its 88th year, ABC remains committed to progress and innovation in carrying out its vision of bringing good spirits and excellent service to Virginia.

Web: www.abc.virginia.gov  Facebook: @VirginiaABC and @SpiritedVirginia  Instagram: @spiritedvirginia  Twitter: @VirginiaABC LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/virginiaabc
Facebook and Twitter: Virginia ABC
2023
  • ABC Laws Effective July 1