Loading...
Store
Virginia ABC > Licenses > VAL System > Definitions > Internet Retailer

Internet Retailer

An internet retailer license authorizes the licensee to sell and ship wine and beer in closed containers to persons in the Commonwealth for off-premises consumption.

Fee(s)

$240

References

COV 4.1-206.3.(F)(2)—Retail licenses
COV 4.1-231.1.(A)(8)(b)—Fees on state licenses

Apply for This License

Completing the application may take 1530 minutes. Average ABC processing time is 60–90 days. View the list of industry required documents (PDF) needed to complete the application. Apply for this license (PDF).

Reporting Requirements

Holders of an internet retailer license are required to file a monthly report on forms prescribed by Virginia ABC. The report is to be filed with the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, Attention: Tax Management Section, P.O. Box 3250, Mechanicsville, VA 23116-9998, accompanied by remittance and the total of such taxes collected during the preceding month. Licensees shall remit a report with the Board even if no sales were made during the month. This report shall be postmarked no later than the fifteenth of the month or, if the fifteenth is not a business day, the next business day thereafter. This report and remittance shall be required on beverages in which the Virginia wine excise taxes have not already been paid.

Virginia licensed internet retailers are not required to submit excise taxes since those taxes are remitted by the wholesaler at the point of transfer to retail.

Every internet retailer licensee shall keep complete, accurate, and separate records in accordance with Board regulations of all shipments of wine to persons in the Commonwealth. Such licensees shall also remit on a monthly basis an accurate account stating whether any wine, or farm wine products were sold and shipped and, if so, stating the brand of each container shipped, the total quantities of wine sold and the total price charged for such wine. Such records shall include the names and addresses of the purchasers to whom the wine was shipped.

Monthly tax report forms (PDF) are provided for your use and may be duplicated using the same format. If you wish to make changes to these forms, please contact the Tax Management Section for approval before using.


The information on this page does not in any way replace or supersede what is listed in Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or Title 3 of the Administrative Code of Virginia. It is the responsibility of every individual or business applying for a license or permit to review, in detail, the applicable sections of the code.
 
Licensee Masthead
 
Sign up for the Licensee e-newsletter to stay informed about selling and serving alcohol in Virginia.
 

Need Help?

Special agents are the primary resource for questions related to operating a business with an ABC license. Contact a special agent via your regional ABC office.

Licensing Wizard

For step-by-step assistance in determining the license or permit that you need, see our Licensing Wizard.

Training

Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Education and Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or education@virginiaabc.com.

Definitions
  • Internet Retailer