A farm winery license allows the sale and delivery on wine manufactured on licensed premises and allows the licensee to:
At least 51% of fruits or agricultural products used by licensee to manufacture wine are grown or produced on such farm. No more than 25 percent of the fruits, fruit juices or other agricultural products shall be grown or produced outside the Commonwealth.—$245 (Classification A)
75% of fruits or agricultural products used by licensee to manufacture wine are grown or produced in the Commonwealth. No more than 25 percent of the fruits, fruit juices or other agricultural products shall be grown or produced outside the Commonwealth. NOTE: Must have operated under an existing Virginia farm winery license for at least seven years.—$4,730 (Classification B)
COV 4.1-206.1(6)—Manufacturer licenses
COV 4.1-231.1A(1)(d)—Fees on state licenses
COV 4.1-233.A (1)(d)—Fees on local licenses
Completing the application may take 15–30 minutes. Average ABC processing time is 60–90 days.
To begin, view the list of industry required documents (PDF) needed to complete the application.
To apply online, click here. To apply via paper application (PDF), click here.
As a result of limitations placed on the privileges of farm winery licenses, Virginia ABC has had to reevaluate the monthly reporting requirements that each winery must complete for Tax Management. Rather than completely overhauling the current process of remitting the monthly excise tax, we ask farm wineries to continue with the current method of reporting those taxes. For clarity, please be guided by the following:
Farm wineries are not permitted to personally deliver wine sold for off-premises consumption using retail privileges. However, this does not prohibit farm wineries from continuing to sell wine at the winery for off-premises consumption, or selling wine for off-premises consumption at approved remote locations. This regulation simply does not allow a farm winery or its employees to deliver the wine to the consumer away from the winery or remote location. If you desire to ship wine to consumers via common carrier, you may apply for a shipper license.
Request for Remote License
Wholesaler's Summary of Wine Sales and Taxes (PDF)
Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Education and Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or firstname.lastname@example.org.