PLEASE NOTE: All Virginia ABC stores will be closing at 6 pm on Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day.
Virginia ABC > Licenses > VAL System > License Definitions > Limited Distillery

Limited Distillery

A limited distillery license authorizes a distillery to manufacture distilled spirits. The distillery must own or lease the farm located on land zoned agricultural. Agricultural products used by the distillery must be grown on the farm.


Fees are based on the following classifications:

5,000 or less gallons—$490

5,001 to 36,000 gallons—$2,725
Over 36,000 gallons—$4,060


COV 4.1-206.1(1)—Manufacturer licenses
COV 4.1-231.1 A(1)(a)—Fees on state licenses
COV 4.1-233.1 A(1)(a)—Fees on local licenses

Apply for This License

Completing the application may take 1530 minutes. Average ABC processing time is 60–90 days.

To begin, view the list of industry required documents (PDF) needed to complete the application.
To apply online, click here. To apply via paper application (PDF), click here

The information on this page does not in any way replace or supersede what is listed in Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or Title 3 of the Administrative Code of Virginia. It is the responsibility of every individual or business applying for a license or permit to review, in detail, the applicable sections of the code.
Licensee Masthead
Sign up for the Licensee e-newsletter to stay informed about selling and serving alcohol in Virginia.

Need Help?

Special agents are the primary resource for questions related to operating a business with an ABC license. Contact a special agent via your regional ABC office. For step-by-step assistance in banquet licensing, see our Licensing Wizard.


Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Community Health & Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or [email protected].

License Definitions
  • Limited Distillery