A distillery license authorizes the licensee to manufacture, sell, deliver, and ship distilled spirits in closed containers to the Board and to individuals outside the Commonwealth of Virginia for resale outside the Commonwealth.
Fees are based on the following classifications:
5,001 to 36,000 gallons—$2,725
Over 36,000 gallons—$4,060
COV 184.108.40.206(1)—Manufacturer licenses
COV 4.1-231.1A(1)(a)—Fees on state licenses
COV 4.1-233.1A(1)(a)—Fees on local licenses
Completing the application may take 15–30 minutes. Average ABC processing time is 60–90 days.
To begin, view the list of industry required documents (PDF) needed to complete the application.
To apply online, click here. To apply via paper application (PDF), click here.
In order to legally distill spirits in the Commonwealth of Virginia, prospective distillers must obtain a Beverage Distilled Spirits Plant permit from the Alcohol and Tobacco and Trade Bureau (TTB) and a distillery license from Virginia ABC. The production of spirits cannot begin until both documents have been issued.
A Virginia ABC distillery license allows for the manufacture of distilled spirits and the sale of the manufactured spirits to Virginia ABC, the government or any entity outside the Commonwealth of Virginia legally authorized to receive the product.
Virginia ABC is the wholesale distributor and sole retailer for all distilled spirits sold in Virginia.
A distillery licensee may be appointed as an independently operated agent of Virginia ABC for the purpose of selling distilled spirits manufactured by or for, or blended by such licensee on the licensed premises at ABC stores established on the distiller’s premises. To be appointed as such an agent of Virginia ABC for the purpose of selling distilled spirits on the distiller’s premises the distillery licensee must first enter into a written agreement with the agency.
If your plans include opening a store on the premises of your distillery in order to directly sell your product(s) to the general public, you must first have at least one of your products listed and sold through Virginia ABC retail stores. More information about the Virginia ABC listings process can be found in our supplier manual (PDF).
Distillers with a product listed with Virginia ABC’s Management of Inventory and Product Sales System (MIPS) who wish to sell their product directly to paying customers on the premises of the distillery must first be authorized as a Virginia ABC “distillery store” and enter into a contract with Virginia ABC. The completed application and agreement will be reviewed by Virginia ABC and an approval or denial decision will be issued.
For inquiries regarding distillery store applications, general information, sales reporting and commission, please contact the Distillery Liaison, (804) 977-7452.
Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Education and Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or email@example.com.