A banquet tasting license is issued to a business or an individual who is not prohibited from holding an ABC license and wishes to sell or give samples for the purpose of educating the consuming public about the alcoholic beverages being tasted. May be granted up to 12 times per year. Authorizes the sale or complimentary samples of beer, wine or mixed beverages in approved localities. Restrictions apply on amounts and types of alcohol (COV 4.1-221.1).
$40 per day
COV 4.1-206.3 D(1)(d)—Retail licenses
COV 4.1-231.1 A(6)(a)(4)—Fees on state licenses
COV 4.1-233.1 A(6)(a)(4)—Fees on local licenses
Completing the application may take 15–30 minutes. Average ABC processing time is 7-10 days. You may also use or download the banquet application (PDF) and follow the instructions listed on the document. View the list of banquet documents (PDF) required to complete the application.
For questions and help related to online licensing system, please contact Virginia ABC at email@example.com or (844) 694-9965.
Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Education and Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or firstname.lastname@example.org.