Virginia ABC > Licenses > Retail Resources > Preventing Underage Sales > Do Not Sell Stickers

Do Not Sell Stickers

Do Not Sell Sticker with 2024 years

"Do Not Sell" stickers help your business combat sales to underage persons. These easy-to-read tools assist ID checking for alcohol and nicotine product sales.

It is extremely important that these stickers be placed where both the seller and buyer can see them, such as on a register or a countertop where purchases are made. The stickers are coated with a smear-resistant varnish in order to prevent fading and damage from cleaning solution spray.

Nicotine product law change effective July 1, 2019:

No sales of nicotine products will be permitted to persons under the age of 21. Retailers should remove any signage related to nicotine product usage at 18 years old.

New 2024 stickers will be mailed to licensees in December. Licensees can order additional stickers beginning in January 2024.

Sticker Examples

Order More Stickers

Virginia ABC produces English and Spanish versions of these free stickers every fall and sends them to every retail licensee in the commonwealth for use in the following calendar year. If you need additional or replacement stickers for your business, please complete the form below.
Licensee Masthead
Sign up for the Licensee e-newsletter to stay informed about selling and serving alcohol in Virginia.

Need Help?

Special agents are the primary resource for questions related to operating a business with an ABC license. Contact a special agent via your regional ABC office. For step-by-step assistance in banquet licensing, see our Licensing Wizard.


Virginia ABC offers free online training to help managers, sellers and servers to become more responsible and better understand ABC laws, rules and regulations. For more information, contact Community Health & Prevention, (804) 977-7440 or [email protected].