Customers in select areas of Richmond, Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads can enjoy the convenience of having spirits, mixers and Virginia wines shipped directly to their homes as part of a pilot initiative from the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC). Shipping is currently available to residents living within the delivery zones in the cities of Richmond, Suffolk, Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk and Virginia Beach, and the counties of Henrico, Chesterfield, Fairfax and Loudoun, as well as portions of Fauquier, Prince William, Southampton and Isle of Wight.
“Home shipping is a priority for Virginia ABC, not only as a way of meeting our customers’ needs and expectations for convenience and service, but also to provide an additional contactless way to receive our products,” said Chief Executive Officer Travis Hill. “During this pilot, we will gather insight into customer demand and operational capabilities. This experience will help us to continue to improve our processes and explore the potential for expanding the service to other areas of the state in 2021.”
Online customers whose home address falls in the shipping zone of the following five ABC stores are able to participate:
Customers who wish to have products shipped to their residence must use ABC’s online ordering platform located at abc.virginia.gov and follow these steps:
There is a limit to the number of orders a store can process each day. Once that limit has been reached, “Ship to My Home” will no longer be available on the store’s website. Customers may still pick up their order via curbside or in-store. Specialty items, including highly sought bourbons, whiskies and other small-batch spirits offerings, are not available for home shipping at this time.
For eligible residences, if an order is placed at one of the five pilot shipping stores Monday through Thursday before 2 p.m., it will be delivered the next day. Orders placed after 2 p.m. are not guaranteed to arrive the next day. Orders placed Friday through Sunday may take 2-3 days to arrive. All shipping will be through UPS. The person accepting the package must be 21 years of age or older. The package may be accepted by another adult as long as the person is over 21 and shows a valid ID.
There is a $10 minimum for home shipping orders and a maximum order limit of 12 bottles. All orders will be assessed a $10 flat rate for shipping and a $2.50 per bottle fee, which covers the specialized packaging intended to protect the products.
Customers whose home address is not in a shipping zone for one of the five stores listed above are encouraged to place an order online and use curbside pickup or purchase items in the store. Business locations and ABC licensees are not currently eligible for this service.
The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC) is a major source of revenue for the commonwealth, contributing more than $2.3 billion to the general fund in the last five years. Virginia ABC currently operates 389 state stores, and provides alcohol education and prevention programs for people of all ages. Its Bureau of Law Enforcement oversees approximately 19,000 ABC licensed establishments. Now marking its 86th year, ABC remains committed to progress and innovation in carrying out its vision of bringing good spirits and excellent service to Virginia.
Web: www.abc.virginia.gov Facebook: @VirginiaABC Twitter: @VirginiaABC
Home Shipping Expansion