

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Alcohol Seller-Server Training

The Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control has established an approval process for any alcohol server-training course pursuant to 4.1-227, E. In order to submit your training program for approval you must complete the following steps:

- (1) Complete the Alcohol Seller / Server Training Data Sheet and review the Seller / Server Training Evaluation form to make sure your program will meet the listed criteria.
- (2) Submit the Alcohol Seller / Server Training Data Sheet and three (3) printed copies of your training program for review.
- (3) Submit three (3) copies of the program in its presentation format (PowerPoint, Video, Online, etc.) with three (3) printed copies of manuals and other written materials. For online programs, please also provide log-in and password information.

Failure to submit the appropriate documents will result in your program being denied. Please allow 45 business days for the approval process to be completed. The processing time will take longer if additional information is needed.

Send your request to:

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, Education Section P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261

Once approved, it will be your responsibility to keep your program updated with changes to Virginia's codes and regulations, and to maintain all records of training classes conducted.

For additional questions or concerns, please email education@abc.virginia.gov.

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Alcohol Seller-Server Training Data

Business Owner's Name:
Business Trade Name:
Business Mailing Address:
Business Physical Address:
_ uss, suu s_s v
Business Telephone Number:
Business Web site:
Type of Training:
Public - provides training to ABC licensees and the general public.
Private - provides in-house training to its employees.
Contact Person's Name:
Contact Telephone:
Contact E-mail Address:
Contact Web site:
Failure to submit the appropriate documents will result in your program

Failure to submit the appropriate documents will result in your program being denied. Please allow 45 business days for the approval process to be completed. The processing time will take longer if additional information is needed.

Send your request to:

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, Education Section P.O. Box 27491, Richmond, VA 23261

E-mail correspondence: education@abc.virginia.gov

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control Seller-Server Training Evaluation

Subject	Yes	No
1. Alcohol Related Laws, Regulations, and Consequences		
A. Underage sale of alcoholic beverages (§ 4.1-304).		
B. Underage sale of tobacco products (§ 18.2-371.2).		
C. Sale, consumption, and loitering by intoxicated persons (§ § 4.1-304, 4.1-305, 4.1-225).		
D. Second party sales - alcohol and tobacco (§ § 4.1-306, 18.2-371.2).		
E. Time of alcohol sales (3 VAC5-50-30).		
F. Age of employees (3 VAC5-50-50).		
G. Designated manager (3 VAC5-50-40).		
H. Sale and consumption in unauthorized places (3 VAC 5-50-110).		
I. Employee consumption of alcoholic beverages (§ § 4.1-325, 4.1-325.2, 4.1-325.16).		
J. Happy hour and advertising (§4.1-325.6, 3 VAC 5-20-30, 3 VAC 5-20-40, VAC 5-50-160).		
K. Penalties - criminal and administrative (§ 4.1-349, 3 VAC 5-70-210).		
2. Checking Identification.		
A. Types of identification (3 VAC 5-50-20).		
B. Elements of acceptable identification (3 VAC 5-50-20).		
C. Unacceptable forms of identification (3 VAC 5-50-20).		
D. Virginia driver's license and Virginia DMV identification card.		
E. Second forms of identification.		
F. Types of false identification.		
G. Identification resources.		
3. Preventing Intoxication.		
A. Licensee and employee responsibility.		
B. Intoxication influences.		
C. Signs of intoxication.		
D. Blood alcohol concentration.		
E. Server strategies.		
4. Managing Confrontational Situations		
A. How to refuse sales.		
B. Documenting confrontational situations.		
C. Post-confrontational situation follow-up with ABC.		
5. VA ABC Programs and Resources		
A. Alcohol and tobacco compliance checks.		
6. Contacting Virginia ABC Department		
A. ABC regional office directory.		
B. ABC Web site.		
7. Review Quiz		