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INTRODUCTION

As a licensee, you are responsible for maintaining a safe, requlated husiness and shoulder many responsibilities which include preventing underage sales
and consumption of alcoholic beverages. This publication was designed to support you in understanding the facts of alcohol education and prevention and
Virginia ABC’s laws and regulations.

This is an informational tool only, not a legal document. Nothing printed on these pages changes, replaces, or supersedes the Code of Virginia, Virginia
Administrative Code, or any other statute, Administrative Procedure Act (APA) decision or judicial decision.

Our main goal is to provide you with the tools and knowledge you need to be compliant and run a successful and safe business. You are an important partner
in our mission of public safety and serve a vital role within your community.

THE FACTS ABOUT
UNDERAGE DRINKING

A common topic of discussion is the minimum legal drinking age of 21 in Virginia. Some believe that lowering the legal drinking age
would decrease problems associated with underage drinking. This belief is a myth, as underage drinking problems were worse when
states had a lower legal drinking age. In fact, the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration estimates that about 900
lives are saved annually due to fewer alcohol-related traffic crashes involving underage drivers. Research also shows that Europe faces
more problems directly related to underage drinking than the United States due to its low legal drinking age.

S0 what are the risks associated with drinking alcohol before the age of 21? Alcohol affects the brain of an adolescent or young adult differently than it affects
a mature adult. The human brain does not completely develop until a person is in their early twenties. Drinking during adolescence can cause temporary and
permanent damage to long-term and short-term memory. Additionally, the areas of the brain that encourage impulsivity and risk-taking develop early ina
teen, while the areas that improve self-control don’t develop until the early twenties. Teens are more likely to experience negative consequences of drinking
alcohol, such as alcohol poisoning, blackouts and memory loss.

When compared with those who wait to drink until they are 21 years of age:

Iy

AR M

Teenagers who start drinking before Teenagers who drink before 21 are
the age of 15 are 12 times more likely seven times more likely to be in
to be injured while under the influence a motor vehicle crash because of
of alcohol, 5 times more likely to abuse their drinking later in life.

alcohol or become alcohol dependent
ater in life and 10 times more likely to
get into a fight after drinking.

According to Source - USA.gov. “Fact Sheets - Underage Drinking.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Accessed January 20, 2023,
http://www.cdc.gov/alcohol/fact-sheets/underage-drinking.htm.
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< BLOOD ALCOHOL
< CONCENTRATION

= (BAC)?

Whether it’s one drink or many, alcohol can affect different people in different ways.
The way a person reacts to alcohol depends on many factors including gender, weight
and rate of alcohol consumption. All of these factors influence a person’s blood alcohol

concentration (BAC).

BAC s the amount of alcohol that is present in the bloodstream. For example, having a BAC

of 0.10 percent means there is about one drop of alcohol for every 1,000 drops of blood
present in the body. At certain BAC levels, alcohol has been shown to alter a person’s

visual functions and perceptions, affecting his or her ability to react, concentrate or pay
attention, process information and operate a vehicle. The measurement of BAC is important
for determining the role alcohol plays in car crashes, physical injuries, fires, crimes, family

violence, suicides and other forms of intentional and unintentional injury.

YOUR BAC LEVEL?

STRENGTH OF DRINK

Drinks can have different effects based on their composition.
Mixing a drink with a carbonated soda, for example, will quicken the effects
of the alcohol due to the carbonation bubbles.

@ RATE OF CONSUMPTION

Taking shots or chugging drinks will increase the amount of
alcohol absorbed within a certain time period. The liver metabolizes alcohol
at the average rate of one drink (12 oz. beer, 5 0z. wine, 1.5 0z. of 80 proof
distilled liquor) per hour. If a person consumes more than one drink per
hour, the remaining alcohol will circulate in the bloodstream until the liver
is able to metabolize.

BODY SIZE/WEIGHT

People who weigh less will generally be affected more
quickly by alcohol than people who carry more weight. This is because
people with a greater body weight have more blood and water in their
hodies, which assists in the dilution of alcohol.

4 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention
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A full stomach slows the absorption of alcohol into
the bloodstream. Drinking on an empty stomach, however, will cause the
BAC to rise more rapidly since there is no food to assist in absorption.

e o BIOLOGICAL SEX
'?' R’ Females tend to reach a higher BAC faster because
they have a greater fat to muscle ratio than males.
Fat repels alcohol, whereas muscle absorbs it. Therefore, it generally takes
less alcohol for a female to show signs of its effects since they are usually
smaller and have less muscle to ahsorb the alcohol.

%@ DRUG USE

The use of other legal or illegal drugs taken can
increase the effects of alcohol and may cause an unpredictable and
dangerous outcome.



=BINGE
= DRINKING?

Binge drinking is the overconsumption of alcohol and is
defined as when a woman consumes four or more drinks or
when a man consumes five or more drinks in a short period
of time. When a large amount of alcohol is consumed in a
short period of time, it can result in a dangerously high BAC,
leading to alcohol poisoning. According to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention, three quarters of alcohol
poisoning deaths occur in people ages 35-64. It is important
to make responsible and healthy choices as drinking in large
amounts can also lead to brain and liver damage.

WHAT ARE THE SIGNS OF
ALCOHOL POISONING?

Know the signs of alcohol poisoning and be prepared to call 911

if someone has the following symptoms:
]
VOMITING
TROUBLE
BREATHING
@ CLAMMY, PALE OR
< | BLUISHLIPS
SEIZURES

DIFFICULTY OR INABILITY
TO REMAIN CONSCIOUS

CONFUSION

T

SLOW OR NO
REFLEXES OR
RESPONSE
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VIRGINIA

CODES AND
REGULATIONS

l/\

]
.
THE MISSION OF VIRGINIA ABC IS FOUNDED ON
THE LAWS ESTABLISHED BY THE VIRGINIA GENERAL

ASSEMBLY AND THE REGULATIONS PROMULGATED
(DEVELOPED) BY VIRGINIA ABC'S BOARD.

6 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention

CODE OF VIRGINIA

The Code of Virginia (COV) contains the laws (statutes) of
the commonwealth.

» Title 4.1is the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act.

» Title 18.2 establishes crimes and offenses, including
driving while intoxicated, public intoxication and
possession of false identification.

Virginia ABC special agents, state police and local law
enforcement enforce these laws. Violations can be
punishable administratively with fines and/or license
suspensions or as a criminal act with fines and/or jail
time.

The Virginia Code Book provides all Virginia statutes and
requlations related to alcohol and alcoholic beverage
control. Order now and get your own copies while
supplies last by visiting our website at https:/www.abc.
virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations.

The primary resource for legislative and regulatory
information is Virginia’s Legislative Information System.
You can find more information by visiting the website at
http://lis.virginia.gov/lis.htm.



4

VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
THE VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (VAC) CONTAINS THE REGULATIONS OF STATE AGENCIES, INCLUDING VIRGINIA ABC.
TITLE 3 CONTAINS THE REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD.

VIRGINIA ABC SPECIAL AGENTS PRIMARILY ENFORCE THESE LAWS AND REGULATIONS, WHICH FOCUS ON LICENSEES AND
THE SALE AND/OR POSSESSION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES. VIOLATIONS CAN BE PUNISHABLE BY FINES, PROBATION OR
REVOCATION OF THE VIRGINIA ABC LICENSE. THESE CODES REPRESENT THE AGENCY REGULATIONS THAT APPLY TO
COVTITLE 4.

FELONIES AND MISDEMEANORS

Criminal offenses are considered either felonies or misdemeanors. Offenses are classified in the following manner:

CRIMINAL OFFENSES AUTHORIZED PUNISHMENT

(lass 4 misdemeanor (COV 18.2-11) Maximum fine of $250.

Class 3 misdemeanor (COV 18.2-11) Maximum fine of $500.

(lass 2 misdemeanor (COV 18.2-11) Confinement in jail for up to six months and a fine of up to $1,000, either or both.

(lass 1 misdemeanor (COV 18.2-11) Confinement in jail for up to 12 months and a fine of up to $2,500, either or hoth.

(lass 6 felony (COV 18.2-10) For Class b felonies, the jury or court may choose imprisonment for one to five years or jail for up to 12

months and a fine of up to $2,500, either or both.
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VIRGINIA LAW

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED (DWI1)

» A conviction for DWI can cost thousands of dollars in court and legal fees and result in the suspension of one’s driver’s
license. The Commonwealth of Virginia’s Zero Tolerance Law makes driving while intoxicated by any amount of alcohol a
serious criminal offense for drivers younger than 21. Virginia defines the legal limit for driving while intoxicated at a BAC of
0.08% for those 21 years of age and older.

» If convicted, violators are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, which can translate to fines ranging from $200 to $2,500,
attorney fees, the loss of one’s driver’s license and jail time based on any prior convictions and the BAC level measured at
that time. Convictions of three or more DWIs will result in a Class 6 felony. For Class 6 felonies, the jury or court may choose
imprisonment for one to five years or jail for up to 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

FRAUDULENT USE OF A DRIVER’S LICENSE, ID CARD OR
OTHER IDENTIFICATION MATERIALS:

» Persons who possess, use or distribute false forms of ID are charged with a Class T misdemeanor. (COV 18.2-204.1, 204.2)
(0V18.2-204.1. Fraudulent use of hirth certificates, driver’s licenses, etc.

» Itisillegal to use another’s identification as one’s own.

> [tisillegal to possess or sell an ID for the purpose of establishing a false identification.

> Persons who possess, use or distribute fake IDs are charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the document is used to purchase
a firearm, the charges increase to a Class 6 felony.

(0V18.2-204.2. Facsimile or manufacture, sale, etc., or possession of fictitious, simulated official license or identification.
> ltisillegal to possess, produce or distribute a falsified document that can be mistaken as an official government document.

» Violators face a (lass 1 misdemeanor charge for the sale or production of such ID and Class 2 misdemeanor charges for
possession of such ID.

(0V 46.2-347. Fraudulent use of driver’s license or Department of Motor Vehicles identification card to obtain alcoholic heverages.

» Any underage person found using a falsified DMV driver’s license or military or university identification card to purchase
alcoholic beverages faces conviction of a Class 3 misdemeanor.

» (onvicted individuals may lose their driver’s license for 30 days to one year.
(0V 4.1-305. Purchasing or possessing alcoholic heverages unlawful in certain cases.
» [tisillegal for anyone under 21 to possess any alcoholic beverage.

» No one under 21 may use an altered or fake 1D such as a driver’s license, hirth certificate or student identification card to
establish a false identification or false age to purchase an alcoholic beverage.

» Violators of this section are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and, upon conviction, face a fine of at least $500 or 50 hours of
community service, and can lose their driver’s license for up to a year.

» Licensees are responsible for the actions of their employees. If the charge is substantiated, the licensee can face a fine and/or
suspension of their license.

8 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention



KNOWING AND UNDERSTANDING VIRGINIA LAW IS VITAL TO
COMPLIANCE. ANY CONVICTIONS INVOLVING FRAUD OR FALSE
CONDUCT MAY BE CONSIDERED AS CRIMES INVOLVING MORAL
TURPITUDE (LYING, CHEATING OR STEALING), WHICH CAN AFFECT
FUTURE EMPLOYMENT OR LICENSING PRIVILEGES.

%, g SALE OF TOBACCO OR ALTERNATIVE TOBACCO PRODUCTS TO MINORS

s ASOf July 1, 2019, no sales of tobacco products are permitted to persons less than 21 years of age.

» This includes cigarettes, cigars, bidis, smokeless tobacco and wrapping papers, as well as electronic cigarettes and alternative
nicotine products (@any noncombustible product containing nicotine that is intended for human consumption, whether chewed,
absorbed, dissolved or ingested by any other means).

» The sale of single cigarettes is not permitted.

» Tobacco products may be sold from a vending machine only if the machine is (a) posted with a notice, in a conspicuous manner
and place, indicating that the purchase or possession of tobacco products by minors is unlawful and (b) located in a place that
is not open to the general public and is not generally accessible to minors. An establishment that prohibits the presence of
minors unless accompanied by an adult is not open to the general public.

> Even if they are 21 years of age, do not sell tohacco products to someone you believe is buying on behalf of a minor.
At all times, carefully check IDs to determine if the person is younger than 21.

//_—_)) ELECTRONIC CIGARETTES AND ALTERNATIVE NICOTINE PRODUCTS

/ In 2014, the Virginia House and Senate unanimously passed legislation that bans retailers from selling electronic cigarettes and
/ alternative nicotine products to minors.

More specifically, the legislation prohibits the purchase or possession of tobacco products, nicotine vapor products and alternative
nicotine products by minors or sale of tobacco products, nicotine vapor products and alternative nicotine products to minors.
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FAKE IDS

QUICK FACTS

A FAKEID IS ANY DOCUMENT THAT
ESTABLISHES A FALSE IDENTITY,

\

A CONVICTION FOR POSSESSING
OR USING A FAKE ID could appear on your
permanent criminal record; impact college or graduate
admission and limit job opportunities.

THE PENALTIES ARE
JUST AS SEVERE forloaning
your ID to another person for use.

= @

'IO Virginia ABC Education and Prevention

( )

PENALTIES
COULD RESULT
in paying a fine or even
going to jail.

\L J

VIRGINIA ABC TRAINS
BARTENDERS, BOUNCERS,
WAIT STAFF, MANAGERS
AND CLERKS TO RECOGNIZE
FAKE IDS—NOT ONLY FROM
VIRGINIA BUT FROM OTHER
STATES AS WELL.

N

IT IS ILLEGAL
to use someone else’s ID
or purchase an ID from any
source

L J

ITIS ILLEGALTO
CREATE OR SELL
FAKEIDS TO

OTHERS.

TODAY'’S IDS HAVE ENHANCED SECURITY
FEATURES to prevent identity theft, falsification and underage purchase of alcohol.



TYPES OF FAKE IDS

» False ID: manufactured or computer generated

» Modified ID: valid identification that is modified to change critical information
» Borrowed ID: valid identification used by another person

» Internet

» Mail-order

» Self-manufacture

» Friends

» Purchase from others

» Purchase from other manufacturer

RETAILERS’ RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Store clerks and sellers and servers of alcoholic beverages or tobacco products must carefully read identification presented for proof of age. According to
FVAC5-50-20, a licensee or its employees can use the following factors to determine whether or not to make a sale:

» Whether an ordinary person would doubt the purchaser is of legal age based on appearance

» Whether the purchaser presents identification upon request and appears to be the individual pictured on the document and of the legal age (21
for alcohol and tobacco products)

» Whether the identification is in proper order, has not been altered and has not expired

CHECKING IDENTIFICATIONS

The law states that a customer must be at least 21 years of age to purchase alcohol. There is no legal requirement that a customer shows identification,
but the best way to verify the customer’s age is to request picture identification.

The acceptable types of identification for determining age are (3 VAC 5-50-20):
» Valid driver’s license issued by any state or Washington, D.C.
» Armed forces identification card
» U.S. passport
» Foreign government visa
» Valid photo identification card issued by Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

ELEMENTS OF ACCEPTABLE ID

In order to be acceptable, an ID should include: photograph of bearer, signature, height of bearer, date of birth and expiration date. (3 VAC 5-50-20)

UNACCEPTABLE IDS FOR PURCHASING ALCOHOL
» (ollege/university ID

» Expired ID

» Social security card

» Government work ID

» Resident alien card

» Green card

» International driver’s license

» Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) border crosser card

» INS worker’s authorization card

Publication Series: Licensee Guide '|'|



VIRGINIA IDS
DMV makes Virginia driver’s licenses easier for checking an ID to determine if a person is underage.

» Driver’s license banners have blue lettering and are printed vertically rather than horizontally so clerks and servers will be able to tell quickly
and easily if a customer is younger than 21.

» All primary photographs are grayscale, full faced and displayed on the left side of the cards. Secondary photographs are grayscale, full faced
and displayed in a clear window, visible from the front and back of the cards.

» The 2-D bhar code on the back of each card carries only information displayed on the front of the card; such as name, customer number and
birth date.

HOW CAN | TELL IF SOMEONE IS YOUNGER THAN 21
BY LOOKING AT THEIR VIRGINIA DRIVER’S LICENSE OR ID CARD?

» (ards for individuals under 21 bear images of the state flower, the dogwood, in the foreground.
» A Virginia driver’s license and identification card for anyone under 21is vertical.

» The wording “Under 21” can be found at the top of the license.

» Dates showing “Under 18 Until” and “Under 21 Until” can be found at the bottom of the license.

» (aution: Prior to renewing their driver’s license, a customer can still have this ID even after they turn 21. It is important to still check the “Date
of birth” and “Under 21 Until” portion of the ID.

Custo
T16700338
Sex
F

Sex
[Siey =

Eyes
BRO

Eyes
BLU
Height
ST 5IN )

Height J
STAN
T i e
06/14/2009

Exp
09/30/2014
v, P Organ Donor

T OBF
05/14/2009

Exp
12/12/2016

Name
MES

NOT A LICENSE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE

DAN
ALYSSA, FAITH OLIVIA, JUNE
2306 WEST BROAD STREET 74
RICHMOND, VA 23220 \gégég:my isss A0
~
Damy,,, Bamy, ., %
- DD:[:D‘-’)S"&QR - DD ASD456789
UNDER 18 UNTIL UNDER 21 UNTIL Date of birth UNDER {8 UNTIL UNDER 21 UNTIL Date of birth
12/12/2006 12/1212009 12/12/1988 09/03/2007 09/03/2010 9/03/1989

HOW CAN | TELL IF SOMEONE IS OF AGE BY LOOKING AT
THEIR VIRGINIA DRIVER’S LICENSE OR ID CARD?

» (ards for individuals 21 years of age and older bear an image of the Virginia state capitol building in the foreground.

Date of birth
o7iisiioss e,

Iss ORI
08/14/2009

Ey forae
0711512016

NOT A LICENSE TO OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE

o Wi 27

SECOND FORMS OF ID

Be careful when accepting any ID as a second form. If you are unsure about someone’s ID and want to request an additional form of D, keep the first
ID and ask for another one. Hold them hoth together and compare to see if they match as there are people who will provide another fake form of ID.
When asking for a second form of Identification it needs to meet the criteria of the other forms of valid identification.

'|2 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention



F-L-A-

is a simple way to remember
how to properly check IDs

Feel

* Have the customer remove the ID from their wallet or plastic holder. You may see another ID in
their wallet.

* Feel for raised edges, glue lines or bumpy surfaces by the photo or birth date. Uneven surfaces
often indicate tampering. Feel for cut-out or pasted information.

* Check the thickness of the ID. Check to see if it was re-laminated after changing some of the
information.

Look

* Photograph: Does it look like the person in front of you? Hairstyles and makeup can change, so
focus your attention on the person’s eyes, nose and chin. When checking men with beards or
mustaches, cover the facial hair portion of the photo and concentrate on the eyes, nose or ears.

* Height: Does it reasonably match the person?
« State seal: Is it on the ID and is it in the correct place?

 Date of birth: Is the person old enough? Figure the math or look at the “Under 21 Until” portion
of the ID.

* Age on ID vs. appearance: Does the person in front of you match the age on the ID?
» Expiration date: Is the ID expired? Expired IDs are unacceptable.

 Lamination: Are the cuts or corners/edges straight or crooked?

Ask

» Ask for their middle name, zodiac sign or year of high school graduation. If someone has to think
about his or her sign or when they graduated, the ID may be false.

* Ask the birth month. If the person responds with a number rather than the name of the month,
this could be a red flag.

* |f the customer is with a companion, ask the companion to quickly tell you the customer’s name.
Any hesitation may indicate deception.

* Ask the customer to sign his/her name and then compare the signatures to the ID. Sometimes if
the ID is false, the customer will sign his or her true name, rather than the one on the ID.

Give Back

+ Give the ID back to the customer and make the sale if the ID is valid.

« |f the ID is fake or altered, you still must return the ID.
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PREVENTING

UNDERAGE
SALES

The sale of alcohol or tobacco to an underage person can result in fines and/or additional sanctions. When
selling alcohol or tobacco, it should be your staff’s top priority to focus on the customer and make sure they are

not underage.

The law states a customer must be at least 21 years of age to purchase alcohol and tobacco products.

There is no legal requirement to check identification (ID), but the best way to verify a customer’s age is to
request proper ID and examine it carefully. If, at any time, you doubt the ID is valid or believe the customer is

underage, you may deny the sale.

HELPFUL SUGGESTIONS

Don’t risk an underage
sale. Check the ID
every time!

If your establishment

has a computerized

system for scanning
IDs, be certain
employees receive training and

=—==0=0=z

understand how to use the equipment.

WATCH OUT FOR SECOND PARTY SALES.

IF A SELLER OBSERVES SPECIFIC ACTIVITY
OF A SECOND PARTY, SUCH AS PASSING

OF MONEY, PICKING OUT PRODUCTS, OR
BRINGING THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE

TO THE REGISTER, REQUEST THE SECOND
PARTY’S ID TOO. THE SALE MAY BE LEGALLY
REFUSED.

Be familiar with IDs. Many, including
the Virginia driver’s license and ID card,

have the person’s 21st birthdays. No math
required!
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SIMPLE THINGS THAT MANAGERS CAN DO
TO MAKE SURE THAT THEIR POLICIES ARE UPHELD:

Hire employees who are responsible. Provide them with a copy of store policies and procedures and have them sign a statement attesting that they
read and understood the policies and agree to implement them.

Discipline employees who are not enforcing store policies and guidelines, including alcohol policies and procedures. Terminate any employee who is
caught knowingly violating the policy and document reasons.

Make sure all new employees are trained in responsible alcohol sales practices through programs such as Virginia ABCs Responsible Sellers & Servers:
Virginia’s Program (RSVP) Training.

Frequently emphasize to your staff that you want them to implement and comply with responsible alcohol sales practices.
Institute an incentive program for employees who effectively uphold responsible alcohol sales policies and procedures.

Conduct periodic spot checks or hire a “shopper” to check on employees to monitor their compliance with policies and procedures.
Support your employees when they refuse sales to a customer.

Do not allow your employees to drink alcoholic beverages on the job or after hours on premise.

A POLICY FOR SELLERS & SERVERS OF ALCOHOL SHOULD INCLUDE THE
FOLLOWING:

» No one younger than 21 will be sold an alcoholic beverage.
» All customers who appear to be younger than 30 must show an ID or they cannot buy alcohol.

» Acceptable forms of ID include:
* Valid passport * Armed Forces identification card
* Valid state driver’s license * Foreign Government Visa
* State-issued ID

» No alcohol will be sold to any adult who is suspected of purchasing the alcohol for the purpose of distributing it to a minor.
» All out-of-state IDs must be checked in a driver’s license guide (may be available through your beer wholesaler).

» Management will assist in interventions with problem customers when requested by employees.

» Signs announcing the policy of not selling alcohol to anyone who is younger than 21 will be posted in a visible location.

» Staff must report all incidents to the manager on duty or document incidents in an incident log book.

» Employees should call the police to report any intoxicated customer who leaves the establishment and gets behind the wheel of a
motor vehicle.

» All employees will be trained in responsible beverage sales practices and how to identify underage customers.

» A copy of the alcohol management policy will be distributed to every employee when hired. All employees must sign a statement indicating
that they read, understand and agree to comply with all alcohol policies and procedures.
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DO NOT SELL STICKERS
HELP PREVENT UNDERAGE SALES

Virginia ABC provides “Do Not Sell” stickers which are easy to read tools that assist sellers, servers and customer service representatives when checking IDs
before making a sale of alcohol or tobacco. These stickers were created using two different colors—one for alcohol and one for tobacco. The bold colors were
selected to ensure the dates are clearly visible to both consumers and sellers. Employees should be able to quickly glance at the sticker and then at the ID to
compare the date of birth to determine a customer’s age.

It is extremely important that these stickers are displayed at all points of sale with customers in all licensed establishments in Virginia. Stickers should be
placed where hoth the seller and buyer can see them, such as on a bar or countertop where purchases are made or on a register.

Stickers are mailed to licensees towards the end of each year to replace the stickers from the previous year. All stickers should be changed on January 1 of
the new year. The stickers are coated with a smear-resistant varnish in order to prevent fading and damage from cleaning solution spray.

If you need additional or replacement stickers, prefer smaller stickers or need stickers that are in Spanish, please visit our website athttps://www.abc.
virginia.gov/licenses/retail-resources/preventing-underage-sales/do-not-sell-stickers. Stickers will be mailed to you at no charge.

DO NOT SELL TOBACCO OR ALTERNATIVE
TOBACCO PRODUCTS TO MINORS

Signage Requirement

Retailers must post a sign stating the sale of these products to any person under 21 years of age is prohibited by law. Those that do not comply are subject
to civil penalties, including a fine of up to $2,500.

As the commonwealth authority responsible for enforcement of laws pertaining to tobacco products, Virginia ABC recommends that licensees use the
following verbiage: “Effective July 1, 2019, the sale of tobacco products, nicotine vapor products or alternative nicotine products to any person under 21 years
of age is prohibited by law” A free sample sign is available on our website.

UNDERAGE BUYER PROGRAM

Virginia ABC frequently recruits teenagers for part-time employment in its Underage Buyer (UAB) program. The UAB
program is an ongoing effort by Virginia ABC to visit alcohol and tobacco retailers throughout the commonwealth
to verify compliance with the state age requirements—21 for tobacco and alcohol sales. Candidates must be 17t0 19
years old to qualify for the program. Underage persons must be willing to testify in court if necessary and they are
asked to refrain from discussing their activities with others to protect the integrity of the program.

Special agents, who are sworn police officers from Virginia ABC's Bureau of Law Enforcement, accompany underage
persons during attempts to purchase cigarettes or alcohol at grocery stores, convenience stores, restaurants and

other businesses, including Virginia ABC retail stores. Underage persons are instructed not to alter their appearance
or mannerisms or mislead clerks in any way while attempting to make a purchase. Underage persons carry their

own valid identification. If the store clerk asks for ID, the UAB presents his or her valid identification. Regardless of
whether the sale is made, the underage person leaves the store immediately after the attempt. It is not Virginia ABC's
intention to trick businesses. In fact, it is the hope that 100% of businesses comply with Virginia law by not making
the sale. Virginia ABC selects underage persons who look their age, making it easier for clerks and servers to request
ID and avoid the sale.
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INTOXICATED PATRONS

[t is the responsibility of licensees not to sell alcoholic beverages to an intoxicated patron.
The sale of alcohol to an intoxicated individual may result in a criminal summons for the

individual seller and an administrative violation against the licensee. \\ ’ / /

“Intoxicated” means a condition in which a person has drunk enough alcoholic beverages
to observably affect his or her manner, disposition, speech, muscular movement, general
appearance or behavior. A customer can be intoxicated even if you only serve them

one drink.

People with physical and mental disabilities can exhibit the same signs and symptoms of
intoxication. It is important that you rule out medical conditions and disabilities before you
(etermine that a customer is intoxicated.

A primary way to determine if a person is intoxicated is to engage him or her in
conversation. Don’t just ask the person how many drinks they’ve had, ask other questions
that can help you reach a conclusion.

Virginia ABC’s special agents’ primary concern is for public safety. If a person is intoxicated
at a licensed establishment, the seller should cut the person off immediately and:

» (ffer to call a designated driver or taxi.

» Talk with any friends of the person, who are sober, and figure out how to get the person home safely.
» (ffer the person food or nonalcoholic beverages.

» If the person presents a danger to themselves or others, call local police.

DO NOT ALLOW AN INTOXICATED PATRON TO REMAIN AT YOUR
ESTABLISHMENT WITHOUT TAKING PREVENTATIVE MEASURES.

If someone exhibits one or more of the following signs of intoxication, consider cutting them off.

LACK OF COORDINATION:
Staggers, sways while attempting to stand still; holding on to bar, chair, etc.

Falls off a stool or chair

REDUCED JUDGMENT AND CHANGE IN BEHAVIOR:

Argues and/or annoys employees or other customers

Giggles or laughs for no apparent reason
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CHANGES IN VISION:

Eves glassy, dilated pupils, lack of focus

(loses or covers one eye to remove double vision

REFLEXES:
Spills drink; misses mouth with glass

Slow or no reaction to actions such as spilling a drink on oneself

MANNERS AND APPEARANCE:

Head bobs, eyelids drooping, looks sleepy

HOW DO | CUT SOMEONE OFF?

Let the person know you will not be able to serve them anymore alcohol,
and remove any drink(s) in their possession.

If | work in a hotel and a patron is cut off in the
restaurant, can he be served in his room?

No. Alcoholic beverages may not be sold to an intoxicated person.

What will a special agent do if | cut a person off
and they are sitting at my bar waiting for a
ride or taxi?

You may not serve alcoholic beverages to a patron to the point he or she
hecomes intoxicated. However, if the patron has been cut off prior to
hecoming intoxicated and attempts are made to secure him a ride, there
would not be a violation.
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TIPS

» Slow the frequency of service down when a customer orders
rapidly. Keep an informal log of actions taken with intoxicated
persons. The log can be used as a reference if a problem arises
ater and is a good training tool to promote responsible selling
and serving.

» Staff members should continuously check whether the person
appears intoxicated. When there is a shift change and there
are concerns ahout any customers, the departing employee/
manager should share that information with the staff coming
on duty.

» Watch out for intoxicated patrons who have just arrived. It’s
not unusual for a person to be cut off at one establishment and
then wander into another establishment. It is a good idea to
hegin screening for intoxicated patrons at the door, especially
during peak hours.

» Be careful to control all areas of the establishment, including
hathrooms, booths, the parking lot, etc. Plan ahead to prevent
a person from being cut off in one area and subsequently
purchasing alcohol in another area of your establishment. It
is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that staff can
observe all patrons at all times.



Trainings are offered as online or in-person courses to help employees in licensed establishments be responsible and better understand Virginia laws, rules
and regulations. In certain circumstances, the Virginia law allows a reduction in the length of any suspension and a reduction in the amount of any civil
penalty for any retail licensee where the licensee can demonstrate that it provided alcohol seller and server training to its employees 12 months prior to the
date of a violation (COV 4.1-227).

7

Managers’ Alcohol
Responsibility Training

Managers” Alcohol Responsibility Training (MART) is a free training offered as an online or in-person classroom course. MART classroom courses are offered
in February, June and October and are instructed by a team of Virginia ABC special agents.
MART is recommended for:
» Virginia’s on-premise and off-premise licensees
> managers
> owners
At the completion of MART, participants will be able to:
» understand laws, rules and regulations that govern alcohol sales and consumption in Virginia
» understand requirements of operating an ABC-licensed business
» prevent intoxicated and underage customers
» document alcohol-related incidents
» understand procedures for employing minors
> use advertising properly
» check IDs correctly
» manage confrontational situations with customers
» understand simple alcohol policies
» utilize compliance assistance from ABC special agents
To view the current schedule and to register for classes or the online training, visit our website at www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/training.
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"
RSVP

Responsible
Sellers & Servers
Virginia's Program

Responsible Sellers & Servers: Virginia’s Program (RSVP) is a free training offered as an online or in-person classroom course. RSVP classroom courses are
offered year-round and are instructed by a team of Virginia ABC special agents.
RSVP is recommended for:
» Virginia’s on-premise and off-premise licensees
> clerks
> cashiers
> wait staff
» bartenders
> “front line” employees
At the completion of RSVP, participants will be able to:
» understand laws, rules and regulations that govern alcohol sales and consumption in Virginia
» prevent intoxicated customers
» refuse sales to underage and intoxicated customers
» examine IDs
» document alcohol-related incidents
To view the current schedule and to register for classes or the online training, visit our website at www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/training.

Responsible Alcohol Delivery Driver (RADD) online training is designed to educate licensees and alcoholic beverage delivery drivers on delivery best practices.
Join us in preventing unlawful sales and consumption of alcoholic beverages while running a successful and safe business.

RADD is required for:
» alcohol delivery driver
> this training is required annually
At the completion of RADD participants will be able to:
» understand laws, rules and regulations that govern alcohol sales and consumption in Virginia
» refuse sales to underage and intoxicated customers
» examine IDs
» how to delivery alcohol legally in the state of Virginia
To register for online training, visit our website at www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/training.
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Preparing for an Annual Inspection

What are agents looking for when they conduct an inspection?
» Is your license posted and current?
» [s your designated manager list posted and current?
» s the ownership information correct?
» s the establishment illuminated sufficiently?
» Have there been physical modifications to the building? If so, was Virginia ABC properly notified?
» Are all required records (including sales/purchases of alcoholic heverages, food, keg hooks, etc.) current, complete and accurate?
» Was all wine and beer purchased from a wholesaler?

» For a mixed beverage licensee, the agent will check Virginia ABC store receipts and inspect for mixed beverage stamps to
determine whether spirits were properly purchased.

» Were mixed beverage stamps properly obliterated on empty spirits bottles?
» [s all advertising material authorized?

» |s food available during all hours the business is open?

» Agents will answer questions about Virginia ABC laws and regulations.

For further questions regarding your annual inspection, please contact your regional Virginia ABC office.

Mixed Beverage Annual Review

The Mixed Beverage Annual Review (MBAR) is the name of a report that documents the food and beverage sales of mixed beverage
licensees. These licensees, including restaurants, caterers and clubs, are required by law to submit an MBAR to Virginia ABC Once a year
within 30 days after the end of the mixed beverage licensee year. (VAC 5-70-90.D.2)

The one-page form, provided by Virginia ABC, requires the reporting of sales totals for each month of the reporting year in four categories:
» Food and non-alcoholic heverages
» Mixed beverages
» Wine and beer
> Miscellaneous

In addition to this form, mixed beverage licensees must attach a list of all alcoholic beverages in their inventory on the last day of their
reporting year. Virginia ABC also supplies forms for this purpose.

The information provided in the MBAR report is used to verify that a mixed beverage licensee is in compliance with the 45% rule that states
45% of the total of food, non-alcoholic beverages and mixed beverages must derive from sales of food and non-alcoholic beverages.

The MBAR can be completed online and additional information can be found on Virginia ABC's website.
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SELLER AND SERVER FIRST-OFFENSE PENALTIES

Any licensee charged with violating Virginia ABC regulations or statutes listed below (if the licensee has not had any substantiated violations of regulation
or statute within the three years immediately preceding the date of the violation) may enter a written waiver of hearing and (1) accept the period of
license suspension set forth below for the violation and (2) pay the civil charge set forth below for the violation in lieu of suspension. However, Virginia ABC
strengthened penalties for second and third offenses for underage sales and underage consumption of alcohol.

SUSPENSION | CIVIL CHARGE
WITH WITH
CERTIFIED CERTIFIED
VIOLATION SUSPENSION | CIVIL CHARGE | TRAINING TRAINING
Sale of beer, wine or mixed heverages to a person at least 18 but younger than 21. 25 days $2,500 5 days $1,500
Allowing consumption of beer, wine or mixed beverages by a person at least 18 but 25 days $2,500 5 days $1,500
younger than 21 years of age.
Aiding and abetting the purchase of alcoholic beverages by a person at least 18 but 10 days $1,250
younger than 21 years of age.
Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on the premises, upon which appropriate | 7 days $750
taxes have heen paid.
Allow an intoxicated person to loiter on the premises. 1 days $750
Sale to an intoxicated person. 25 days $500 5 days $1,500
Allow consumption by an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,500 5 days $1,500
Atter hours sales or consumption of alcoholic beverages. 10 days $1,250
No designated manager on premises. 1 days $750
Invalid check to wholesaler or board. 1 days $500
Inadequate illumination. 7 days $750
Virginia ABC license not posted. 1 days $750
Not timely submitting report required by statute or regulation. 1 days $750
Designated manager not posted. 1 days $750
Person younger than 18 serving alcoholic beverages; younger than 21 acting as 1 days $750
hartender.
Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized place or manner. 10 days $1,250
Consumption of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized area. T days $750
Removal of alcoholic beverages from authorized area. T days $750
Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps. 7 days $750
Employee on duty consuming alcoholic beverages. T days $750
Conducting illegal happy hour. T days $750
Illegally advertising happy hour. 7 days $750
Unauthorized advertising. 7 days $750
Failure to remit state beer/wine tax (if deficiency has been corrected). 10 days $1,250
Wholesaler sale of wine/beer in unauthorized manner. 10 days $1,250
Wholesaler sale of wine/beer to unauthorized person. 10 days $1,250
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Hearings and Appeals

The hearings process addresses disciplinary matters related to Virginia ABC law violations, contested license applications and Beer/Wine Franchise Act disputes. The
hearing process for Beer/Wine Franchise Act disputes is governed hy the Rules of the Supreme Court. The following is a broad outline of the hearings process for all
other cases:
1. The charge resolutions process is initiated.

Generally, these proceedings result from one of four situations:

» Alleged violations by a licensee of one or more ABC laws and/or regulations
» Approval of a licensee’s designated manager/request to hire a felon

» Approval or extension of an area for exercise of the licensed privilege(s)

» Approval of a manufacturer’s label

Other proceedings may be held to address contested applications for an ABC license or permit or to resolve a dispute between a wholesaler and manufacturer
under the Beer or Wine Franchise Act.

2. The consent period begins.
In some disciplinary cases, i.e., alleged violations, VA ABC proposes a consent settlement option in writing. The licensee can admit the alleged violation(s) and
accept a monetary penalty and/or suspension of the ABC license.

3. The case is docketed.

A docket is the official schedule of pre-hearing conferences and hearings pending before a Virginia ABC administrative law judge. A Notice of Hearing and Notice
of Opportunity for Mediation or Negotiation is sent to the licensee, applicant, objector and/or complainant to initiate the charge resolution process. The Hearing
Notice will contain the dates, times and locations of the pre-hearing conference and formal hearing. The Notice of Opportunity for Mediation or Negotiation
will provide information should the licensee , applicant, objector and/or complainant wish to try to resolve the matter through negotiations or mediation.
Negotiations provides the licensee with the opportunity to resolve charges through discussions with Virginia ABCs Office of Legal Counsel. Mediation is another
possible way to resolve the matter prior to a hearing. It involves the use of a neutral facilitator and requires all parties to agree to attempt to mediate the
matter.

4. The pre-hearing conference is held.

The goal of the pre-hearing conference is to prepare for the formal hearing. At the pre-hearing conference, each party identifies undisclosed witnesses and
materials it intends to use at the formal hearing; the parties also discuss stipulations, procedural and transcription issues, technology needs, translation services
and preliminary motions.

5. The formal hearing is held.
Hearings are held at one of Virginia ABC's regional offices or in meeting rooms or court rooms at that region. These formal hearings are held before an
administrative law judge and are transcribed by a court reporter.*

6. An initial decision is issued.
After the hearing, the administrative law judge will issue the initial decision. The initial decisions is then mailed to the parties via USPS.

1. The initial decision may be appealed.
An applicant, licensee or other aggrieved party can appeal an initial decision to the ABC Board within thirty (30) days of the initial decision being issued.*

8. An appeal hearing is scheduled and held.
Appeal hearings are held at the Virginia ABC central office in Hanover, Virginia. Appeal hearings are before a panel of the ABC board.

9. A final decision is issued.

The ABC board upholds or modifies the initial decision, i.e., dismisses charges, levies sanctions or takes other action as appropriate based on the initial decision*
or remands the matter back to an administrative law judge.

*Visit the “Hearings Process Page” on the Virginia ABC website for addlitional information.. Publication Series: Licensee Guide E



Below are the most frequently asked questions about the hearings, appeals and the Board Order process.
What do | need to do if | need a continuance hefore a hearing?

Send a written continuance request to the Hearings Division as soon as you are aware of the conflict, and no later than seven (7) full working days prior to the hearing. Continuances will
be granted only upon a showing of good cause. If a continuance request is made less than seven (7) full working days before the hearing, extenuating circumstances that could not be
foreseen must be shown.

Are there alternatives to the formal hearing process?

Where permitted one of two settlement options may eliminate the need for a hearing in disciplinary cases: consent settlements and negotiated resolutions. In limited circumstances,
and provided all parties agree, mediation services also may be available.

What is a consent settlement?

A consent settlement is a resolution proposal made by Virginia ABC, which gives the licensee a stated time to consider resolution terms. If accepted, the licensee admits the alleged
violation(s) and accepts a monetary penalty and/or suspension of the ABC license.

What is a negotiated resolution?

A negotiated resolution is an agreement between the licensee, applicant, objector andj/or complainant, and VA ABC's Office of Legal Counsel for the alleged violation with Virginia ABC.
Where is the hearing held?

Hearings to resolve contested license application, alleged violation(s) of the Virginia ABC Act and/or Virginia ABC's regulations take place at the appropriate Virginia ABC regional office.
When will | be notified of the hearing?

The Notice of Hearing and Notice of Opportunity to Negotiate or Mediate contains the date, time and location of the pre-hearing conference and formal hearing. The parties are sent the
Notice of Hearing and Notice of Opportunity to Negotiate or Mediate once the matter has been docketed.

Do | need a lawyer at the hearing?

Although not required, if you wish, you may hire an attorney. Because the Notice of Hearing and Notice of Opportunity to Negotiate or Mediate the alleged violation(s) affords adequate
notice of the hearing date, delays in hiring an attorney rarely are grounds for a continuance.

What is the role of the administrative law judge at the hearing?

The administrative law judge conducts the hearing in a fair and impartial manner while assuring that all relevant and material information is considered in order to make a reasoned
decision.

What evidence can be presented at the hearing?

All evidence pertaining to the objections/charges/complaints should be disclosed before or during the pre-hearing conference and presented at the formal hearing. Parties will have the
opportunity to question witnesses, present evidence and offer argument in support of his/her case.

Who can attend the hearing?

Virginia ABC hearings are open to the public.

How do I find out about the decision of the administrative law judge?

After the hearing, the administrative law judge will issue the initial decision. The initial decisions is then mailed to the parties via USPS.
(an | appeal the initial decision of the administrative law judge?

Yes. The party (i.e., applicant, licensee or aggrieved party) appealing must submit a letter to the assigned administrative law judge within thirty (30) days after issuance of the decision.
The letter must identify the alleged error of law or fact that caused an improper result. The board will hear the appeal at Virginia ABC's central office in Hanover, Virginia.

What type of evidence can be presented at an appeal hearing?

None, unless the board grants a motion to take additional evidence. Such a motion must be submitted at least ten (10) days prior to the appeal hearing. At the appeal hearing, the
appellant may argue his/her position based on evidence introduced previously at the hearing conducted by the administrative law judge.

What if | have other questions?

Persons having additional questions may contact the Hearings and Appeals Division at (804) 213-4444 or hearing@virginiaabc.com.

Are there fees associated with the Hearings Process?

A non-refundable filing fee of $50.00 is required with the Notice of Appeal Before the Board.

A non-refundable filing fee of $50.00 is required for franchise matters that have not been successful at other resolution attempts and desire to move forward with a formal hearing.

Requests for transcripts are at a cost of $2.85 per page. Transcripts are required to be prepared for any request for an Appeal before the Board at the expense of the appellant.
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OW CAN | BE A

As a licensee, there are many opportunities for you to collaborate with other local businesses, organizations, police and Virginia ABC special agents to
(reate a safer community environment. Some localities have established business associations to ensure that all partners follow the same standards. These
standards provide guidelines to help enhance the safety of customers and residents. The most important step to being a good neighbor is finding common
ground amongst community partners.

A few examples of strategies are:
» Enforcing noise ordinances
» Increasing lighting on streets and in parking lots
» Compliance checks
» (ontinuing an open dialogue with each of your community partners
» Communication with local police
» Establishing consistent messages about your standards and expectations throughout your community
» Providing messages on how to drink responsibly

Project Sticker Shock

Project Sticker Shock is a youth-led community awareness and education program designed to prevent

. O:IECT 511‘(:\(“l underage youth from obtaining alcohol from adults 21 and older by using a fake ID to purchase alcohol an event,
PR

participants place stickers and window clings that warn about the penalties for providing alcohol to minors and
using a fake ID to purchase alcohol on cases and coolers of alcohol at local off-premise licensees. The sticker
and window cling provide a message - educating adults and youth about the legal consequences and raising
awareness of this issue among those living in the surrounding community. It is a statewide effort to increase
visibility and compliance with Virginia’s underage drinking laws.

This program encourages partnership between community organizations, youth, retail establishments, law
enforcement, local media and other community members. Project Sticker Shock is a great opportunity for
licensees to collaborate with concerned individuals to take a proactive stand against underage drinking and
illegal sales of alcohol.

Virginia ABC encourages off-premise licensees to visit the Project Sticker Shock webpage to learn more - https:/
www.abc.virginia.gov/education/programs/project-sticker-shock. If you are interested in being involved or have
any questions about events in your area, please contact Virginia ABC's Education and Prevention.

Publication Series: Licensee Guide 25


http://www.abc.virginia.gov/education/programs/project-sticker-shock. 

LICENS

. FAQS

QUESTION

ANSWER

When does a person reach their 21st birthday?

The Attorney General’s Office has opined that a person attains his/her
next year of age on the day prior to their birthday.

How old does a person have to be to purchase non-alcoholic beer?

There is no minimum age requirement.

How do you obtain a Virginia ABC license?

You may contact any of the Virginia ABC regional and satellite offices
for further details or visit our website to download an application.

How long does it take to get a retail license? A banquet license?

Retail license applicants should apply at least sixty (60) days prior to
scheduled opening date. Banquet license applicants should apply at
least ten (10) days prior to the date of the event.

When is it appropriate to get a one-day banquet license?

Whenever alcoholic beverages are being sold or dispensed in a public
nlace, where food is sold for compensation, on the premises of a club,
and to purchase alcoholic beverages from a wholesaler, a one-day
hanquet license is required.

How much alcohol can be legally transported into Virginia?

One (1) gallon or four liters, if in metric size containers, per person of
legal age.

How old do you have to he to sell alcohol at a Virginia ABC
off-premises licensed establishment?

For immediate family members, there is no age requirement. For
example, it would be permissible for the owner’s child who is 11 years
old to run the cash register.

For non-family members - any person that is of the legal working
age in Virginia may work selling alcohol in an off-premises licensed
establishment.

In both examples above, a designated manager who is 21 years of age
or older must be on the licensed premises.

Is “Sellers and Servers” (bartender) training mandatory in Virginia?

No, but highly recommended. You may view training opportunities on
our website.

When a patron orders a hottle of wine and does not consume the
entire contents, can he/she take it home?

Yes, but it must be in the original container and sealed.

How old does a waiter or waitress have to be to serve alcohol?

Waiter or waitress - 18 years of age; bartender - 21 years of age.

26 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention




QUESTION ANSWER

What hours can happy hour be conducted?

6:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.

What are the current happy hour regulations?

As of July 1, 2019 legislation allows establishments to include

prices when advertising happy hours, as well as creative terms in
advertising, such as “Wine Down Wednesday,” or “Thirsty Thursday.”
Happy hour specials may not promote over-consumption or underage
drinking.

How many drinks can a patron purchase at one time?

No more than two drinks of wine, beer or mixed heverages during
happy hour. During all other times, no more than two mixed drinks at
one time, wine and heer - without restriction.

Are pitchers of mixed beverages authorized in Virginia?

Mixed beverage licensees may sell pitchers of sangria and other
mixed beverages as long as 1) pitchers of mixed beverages are sold
in containers with @ maximum capacity of 32 ounces or one liter, and
2) a pitcher may only be served to two or more patrons, who cannot
possess more than one pitcher at a time.

(Can a hartender buy a drink for a customer while on duty?

No.

(an a hartender give away a free drink to a customer while on duty?

No.

Can an owner buy or give away a drink to a customer while on duty?

No, an owner can only buy or give away a drink to personal friends
while on duty. 3 VAC570100.

(an a licensee sell or give away samples (tastes) of their offered
alcoholic beverages (less than the normal amount) so that patrons
may taste the product before purchasing a full serving?

An on-premise licensee can give a sample of their products. Samples of
wine shall not exceed two ounces, samples of beer shall not exceed four
ounces, and samples of spirits shall not exceed one-half ounce. No more
than two product samples shall be given to any person per visit.

(an a restaurant conduct a private function and allow participants to
bring in their own alcoholic beverages?

Yes, only in a private room that is separate from the public. If the
establishment has only one room, then the entire restaurant must be
closed to the general public.

(an a licensee transfer alcoholic beverages from one establishment
to another?

No, contact your agent for further information.

(Can a convicted felon he employed in a licensed establishment?

There have been recent changes that will allow some convicted felons
to he employed by a licensee unless the board disapproves them.

Are Virginia ABC licenses transferable?

No
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QUESTION ANSWER

What newspapers are acceptable to publish in for Virginia ABC
licenses?

[nany newspaper published in or having a general circulation in the
county, city or town wherein such applicant proposes to engage in
such business.

What do you check for when checking wine, heer and mixed
bheverage invoices while conducting an inspection?

To verify that wine and beer were purchased from licensed Virginia
wholesalers and distilled spirits were purchased from Virginia ABC.

The mixed beverage ratio is 45% - 55%. What is the ratio for wine
and beer?

There is no ratio for wine and beer.

ABC license?

If a Virginia ABC license is suspended, may a licensee serve non- Yes.
alcoholic beer?
(an an officer of a corporation, living abroad, obtain a Virginia Yes.

What are the rules regarding non-alcoholic beer?

Non-alcoholic beer is less than one-half of 1% alcohol, therefore, it
is not controlled by Virginia ABC. Exceptions would be those things
a wholesaler can provide to a retailer regarding non-alcoholic
heverages.

How should a seller handle a second party sale?

If a seller observes specific activity of a second party, such as passing
of money, participation in selection, or bringing the alcoholic
heverage to the checkout stand, identification should be requested of
the second party. The sale may be legally refused.

What will the agent do if | cut a person off and they are sitting at
my har waiting for a ride or etc.?

You may not serve alcoholic beverages to a patron to the point he
hecomes intoxicated. However, if the patron has been cut off prior to
hecoming intoxicated and attempts are made to secure him a ride,
there may not be a violation.

At closing, will agents write me up if I still have glasses with alcohol
on the table?

No. It is not a violation to have glasses with alcohol on the table at
or after closing. The violation is to allow consumption of alcoholic
heverages between the hours of 2and 6 a.m.
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QUESTION ANSWER

What are the rules for a private club?

A private club is any private nonprofit corporation or association
which is the owner, lessee or occupant of an establishment operated
solely for a national, social, patriotic, political, athletic or other

like purposes. The rules for private clubs are the same as for retail
operations with the exception of hours of sale and brown bagging.
(lubs are limited to members and their invited guests except for
specific and limited times they may operate open to the public.

(an the licensee keep a falsified ID? What should the licensee do
with the ID?

Virginia law does not allow anyone other than sworn police to seize a
falsified ID. Licensees retaining such IDs should turn them over to the
local police or to their local Virginia ABC agent.

(Can band members drink while playing at an establishment?

Yes, as long as they are not involved in selling or serving alcohol and
are 21 or older.

When can employees drink alcohol?

No retail wine or beer and mixed beverage licensee or his agent or
employee shall consume any alcoholic beverages while on duty and
in a position that is involved in the selling or serving of alcoholic
heverages to customers (COV 4.1-325 and 3 VAC 4.1-325.2).

If a patron is cut off in the restaurant can he be served in his room?

No. Alcoholic beverages may not be sold to an intoxicated person.

What type of clothes can be worn in the restaurant by employees?

(lothing which stresses nudity or near nudity on the premises of a
mixed beverage or wine and beer licensee is prohibited.

(an | offer unlimited drinks as a special?

No, licensees may not offer unlimited alcoholic beverages.

Can | place orders for products with my Virginia ABC store online?

Yes, you may place your orders online 24/7 through Management
of Inventory and Product Sales (MIPS); view present and future
discounting; and receive email notifications about your order status
on the Virginia ABC website.
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CONTACTS

VIRGINIA ABC’S EDUCATION AND PREVENTION

Mission:
To eliminate underage and high-risk drinking by building the capacity for communities to educate individuals and prevent alcohol misuse.
Philosophy:

We believe that communities can be formed in a variety of settings and that community leaders can regularly and more effectively impact their community.
Therefore, we offer prevention education, strategic planning knowledge, leadership skill building, resources, subject matter experts and partnerships to
build capacity and preparedness.

We believe that a multi-faceted approach to alcohol education and prevention is more effective and should include individuals, families, licensees and
communities.

Contact:
www.abc.virginia.gov/education | (804) 977-7440
education@VirginiaABC.com | @VirginiaABCEducationAndPrevention

HOW TO CONTACT YOUR VIRGINIA ABC AGENT

» Find the contact information for your regional and satellite office below.
» Keep your agent’s card handy.

» Keep your agent up-to-date about any issues that may impact your ability to comply with Virginia’s alcohol-related laws and regulations such as
expansion to your building, special promotions and advertising, and hours of operation.

» Use your agent as a resource and ask proactive questions to clarify any misinformation or misinterpretation about Virginia’s alcohol-related laws
and requlations.

» Get to know your agent before an inspection or an underage buyer operation.

» Your agent can refer you to licensee training programs. They can also make informal presentations and answer questions on interpreting Virginia’s
laws, spotting fake IDs, preventing intoxication and other related subjects.

» Notify your agent if you had to call law enforcement for any reason (fight in your business, caught someone using a fake ID, etc.). An agent would
rather hear ahout the incident from the licensee rather than other law enforcement.
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VIRGINIA ABC REGIONAL AND SATELLITE OFFICES

REGIONS LOCATION PHONE FAX

Abingdon (satellite of Roanoke) 102 Abingdon Place Abingdon, VA 24211-5197 (276) 676-5502 (276) 676-5549
Alexandria 6308 Grovedale Dr. Alexandria, VA 22310-2551 (703) 313-4432 (703) 313-4444
Charlottesville 630 Peter Jefferson Pkwy, Suite 260 Charlottesville, VA 22911-4624 (@34) 977-2974 (434) 977-4172
Chesapeake 1103 South Military Hwy. Chesapeake, VA 23320-2343 (757) 424-6100 (157) 424-6744
Frederickshurg 7450 Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116 (540) 322-5440 (540) 891-3153
Hampton 4907 West Mercury Blvd. Hampton, VA 23605 (757) 825-7830 (757) 825-7884
Lynchburg 20353 Timberlake Rd., Suite A Lynchburg, VA 24502-7203 (434) 582-5136 (434) 582-5140
Richmond 7450 Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116 (804) 213-4620 (804) 323-1055
Roanoke 2943 Peters Creek Rd. NW., Suite D Roanoke, VA 24019-3518 (540) 562-3604 (540) 562-3612
Staunton 38 Professional Way, P0. Box 1, Verona, VA 24482 (540) 332-7800 (540) 248-1081

Not sure which regional office to call? See the Virginia ABC Bureau of Law Enforcement Territories list below.

TERRITORIES LIST

REGION
Region 1—Roanoke

COUNTIES AND CITIES

Counties: Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick and Roanoke. Cities: Covington,
Martinsville, Roanoke and Salem.

Counties: Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell,
Washington, Wise and Wythe. Cities: Bristol, Galax, Norton and Radford.

Counties: Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Cumberland, Greensville,
Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nelson, Pittsylvania and Prince Edward. Cities: Danville, Emporia and Lynchburg.

Counties: Augusta, Bath, Clarke, Frederick, Highland, Page, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah and Warren.
(ities: Buena Vista, Harrisonburg, Lexington, Staunton, Wayneshoro and Winchester.

Counties: Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William. Cities: Alexandria, Fairfax, Manassas, Manassas Park and
Falls Church.

Counties: Caroline, Essex, Goochland, Hanover, King & Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Northumberfand,
Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford and Westmoreland. Cities: Fredericksburg

Counties: Amelia, Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Henrico, New Kent, Nottoway, Powhatan and Prince George.
(ities: Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petershurg and Richmond.

Counties: Gloucester, Isle of Wight, James City, Mathews, Middlesex, Southampton, Surry, Sussex and York.
(ities: Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Suffolk and Williamshurg.

Counties: Accomack and Northampton. Cities: Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth and Virginia Beach.

Counties: Albemarle, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Madison, Orange and Rappahannock.
(ities: Charlottesville.

Region 1—Abingdon (Satellite)
Region 2—Lynchburg

Region 3—Staunton

Region 4—Alexandria

Region 5—Fredericksburg
Region 6—Richmond

Region 7—Hampton

Region 8—Chesapeake
Region 9—Charlottesville
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HOW TO CONTACT VIRGINIA ABC HEARINGS AND APPEALS

Appeals (804) 213-4439
Consent settlements (804) 213-4444
Dockets / hearings intake (804) 213-4440
Final decisions (804) 213-4441
FOIA requests (804) 213-4447
Offers-in-compromise (804) 213-4451
Virginia code requests (84.1-227) (804) 213-4447
Chief clerk (804) 213-4447
Mailing address P0. Box 218

Mechanicsville, VA 23111
Fax: (804) 213-4731
Website: www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/hearings-and-appeals

Compliance Unit (804) 213-4632
(ompliance@virginiaabc.com

Licensing Record Management (804)-213-4517
[rmhlp@Vvirginiaahc.com

HOW TO CONTACT VIRGINIA ABC COMMUNICATIONS

Communications General Mailbox (804) 213-4413
pubrel@VirginiaABC.com

VIRGINIA ABC LICENSING SYSTEM

The Virginia ABC Licensing (VAL) system provides online access to business transactions with Virginia ABC, including:

. Licenses and Permits—apply, renew, modify, surrender, etc.

. Financial Transactions—payment of all fees, fines

. Hearings and Appeals—reporting and correspondence

. Training Records—officially record licensee training such as RADD, RSVP and MART.

Licensees have the ability to manage their account and profile, including adding authorized users, complete licensing tasks, financial transactions and track your
required training all from the convenience of your computer.

LICENSEE NEWSLETTER
Sign up for our Licensee e-newsletter for updates ahout this innovative web-based licensee portal. https://www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/licensee-e-newsletter/

32 Virginia ABC Education and Prevention



VIRGINIA ABC RESOURCES

Virginia ABC Retail Licensee Resources (www.ahc.virginia.gov/licenses/retail-resources)
The retail licensee resources section of our website is designed to further support licensed establishments in understanding and following Virginia’s ABC laws and
requlations.

Licensee Training Resources
Our courses are offered to help licensees become more responsible and to better understand Virginia laws, rules and regulations. Both courses are available online and in
classroom settings, instructed by a team of Virginia ABC special agents in your region.

Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Resources

Virginia ABC Education and Prevention provides programming and resources for all
age groups. Please call or visit us online for more information.

Phone: 804-977-7440

E-mail: education@VirginiaABC.com

Web: www.abc.virginia.gov
Facebook.com/VirginiaABCEducationAndPrevention

Miss Virginia School Tour
In partnership with Virginia ABC, Miss Virginia travels across Virginia to elementary schools spreading a message of health, wellness and prevention with students and
teachers.

Being Outstanding Leaders Together (BOLT) Against Drugs and Alcohol
Provides drug and alcohol prevention knowledge to middle school students through regional community collaboration and high school peer leadership.

Youth Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Project (YADAPP)
A high school youth-led leadership conference equipping teens with a strategic plan and empowering them to keep their schools and communities alcohol and drug free.

Power of Parents
The Power of Parents program is designed to empower parents of middle and high school students through resources and training to have ongoing, intentional
conversations about the dangers and consequences of underage drinking.

Virginia Office for Substance Abuse Prevention (VOSAP)
An organization that promotes collaboration among state and local agencies, organizations, coalitions and faith communities that address substance abuse prevention.

Higher Education Alcohol and Drug Strategic Unified Prevention (HEADS UP)
Strengthening and supporting the mission of healthy and safe campus-communities through strategic initiatives, resources and capacity building.

Project Sticker Shock
Supplies are provided to community groups in an effort to decrease social providing. The project includes stickers being placed on alcohol packaging reminding buyers to
not provide to minors and is done in conjunction with a press event to help raise awareness.

Virginia Higher Education Substance Use Advisory Committee (VHESUAC)
VHESUAC is led by an Executive Council and Workgroup which develop and update a statewide strategic plan for substance use education, prevention and intervention at
Virginia’s institutions of higher education.

Educational and Prevention Materials
Publications, online training and public service announcements are available to the general public at no cost.

Grant Program
Alcohol education and prevention grants assist community partners to develop and enhance initiatives related to alcohol education and prevention. Grant cycle is July
through June with applications due in the spring.
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