
NAME THREE SIGNS OF 
ALCOHOL POISONING

ANSWERS:

Confusion
Slow or no reflexes or response
Inability and difficulty to remain conscious
Vomiting
Trouble with breathing
Clammy, pale, or bluish lips
Seizures

Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/AlcoholOverdoseFactsheet/Overdosefact.htm



WHAT DOES "BAC" 
STAND FOR?

ANSWER:

Blood Alcohol Concentration or Content. Your blood alcohol concentration or 
content is the amount of alcohol that is present in the bloodstream. 

For example, having a BAC of .10 percent means there is about one drop of 
alcohol for every 1,000 drops of blood present in the body. 

Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/AlcoholOverdoseFactsheet/Overdosefact.htm



WHAT IS THE LEGAL BAC LIMIT 
FOR DRIVING UNDER THE 
INFLUENCE IN VIRGINIA?

ANSWER:
The Commonwealth of Virginia’s Zero Tolerance Law makes driving under 
the influence by any amount of alcohol a serious criminal offense for drivers 
under the age of 21. Virginia defines the legal limit for driving under the in-
fluence at a BAC of 0.08 percent for those 21 years of age and over. 

It is strongly recommended that you determine a non-drinking designated 
driver or alternate transportation before you go out to drink.

Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations
www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



NAME TWO FACTORS THAT
CAN IMPACT YOUR BAC

ANSWERS:

Strength of drink
Body weight
Rate of consumption
Food
Gender
Drug use

Refer to the Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Training Guide for more details.
Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/AlcoholOverdoseFactsheet/Overdosefact.htm



WHICH DRINKS ARE EQUIVALENT 
TO A STANDARD SIZE DRINK?

ANSWERS:
12 ounces of beer
5 ounces of wine
1.5 ounces of 80 proof liquor

Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations
www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



POSSESSING OR USING A 
FAKE ID IS A FELONY

ANSWERS:

False. Possessing or using a fake ID is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. If convicted, 
violators can lose their driver’s license for up to one year, face a fine of $500 - 
$2,500, and/or a minimum of 50 hours of community service and/or up to one 
year in jail.  

Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations
www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



IT IS ILLEGAL TO PROVIDE OR 
PURCHASE ALCOHOL FOR SOMEONE 

UNDER THE AGE OF 21.

ANSWER:
True. Even if you are 21, purchasing or providing alcohol for your friends who 
are younger than 21 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor and can result in a maximum 
$2,500 fine, and/or one year in jail and/or loss of one’s drivers license for up 
to a year.

Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations
www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE THE 
BODY TO PROCESS ONE 
STANDARD SIZE DRINK?

ANSWERS:

It takes the liver approximately one hour to process one standard drink. 
Sobering up quickly with a cold shower, exercise, eating a large meal or drink-
ing coffee is a myth as time is the only way to eliminate alcohol from your 
system. 

Refer to the Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Training Guide for more details.
Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/AlcoholOverdoseFactsheet/Overdosefact.htm



THE MORE YOU DRINK, 
THE BETTER YOU'LL FEEL

ANSWER:
False. A drinker’s experience is more positive at a BAC of .06 percent or 
below. Once BAC surpasses .06 percent, depressant effects of alcohol such as 
sluggishness, fatigue, sloppiness, lack of balance, coordination and slurred 
speech occur. Keeping BAC below .06 percent can reduce negative 
consequences associated with drinking alcohol.

Refer to the Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Training Guide for more details.
Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

https://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/Hangovers/beyondHangovers.htm



WHAT SHOULD YOU DO IF
YOU THINK SOMEONE HAS

ALCOHOL POISONING?

ANSWERS:

Roll them on their side
Call 911
Don’t leave them alone
Begin CPR if heart rate stops

Source: Step UP!
http://stepupprogram.org/



HOW MUCH CAN YOU 
BE FINED IF YOU ARE 

CONVICTED OF A DUI?

ANSWER:
Conviction of a DUI is classified as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, which could result 
in:
• $200 to $2,500 + attorney’s fees
• and/or the loss of one’s driver’s license
• and/or  jail time

Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations
www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



IS UNDERAGE POSSESSION OF 
ALCOHOL A MISDEMEANOR 

OR A FELONY?

ANSWERS:

Underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Source: Virginia ABC Codes and Regulations

www.abc.virginia.gov/enforcement/virginia-codes-and-regulations



WHAT IS CONSIDERED BINGE 
DRINKING FOR A MAN 
AND FOR A WOMAN?

ANSWER:
Man: 5 or more drinks within a short period of time
Woman: 4 or more drinks within a short period of time

Refer to the Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Training Guide for more details.
Source: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

www.pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/AlcoholOverdoseFactsheet/Overdosefact.htm



WHAT SHOULD YOU DO IF YOU 
NOTICE THAT A FRIEND HAS 
HAD TOO MUCH TO DRINK?

ANSWERS:

Allow students to be creative with their answers. Guide them to use one of 
the following bystander intervention techniques:

Direct
Delegate
Distract

Refer to the Virginia ABC Education and Prevention Training Guide for more details.
Source: Step UP!

http://stepupprogram.org/



HOW CAN YOU MAKE 
RESPONSIBLE DECISIONS 

ABOUT DRINKING?

ANSWER:
Allow students to be creative with their answers. Guide them to think of 
steps to creating a safe plan before drinking. Answers may include:

Avoid drinking games
Don't drink on an empty stomach
Keep track of how much you're drinking
Know the signs of alcohol poisoning
Be an active bystander

Refer to the HEADS UP Alcohol Education Basics Guide for more details.


